The Senior Rebels are the 2019-20 Notekeu champs for the 11th time

For the 11th time in 13 years, the Assiniboia Senior Rebels are this year's Notekeu hockey champs following a weekend sweep of all three games against the Hodgeville Huskies.

On Friday, March 6 in Assiniboia, the Rebels opened up a 2-1 first period lead on goals from Landon Marit and Dakoda Helland. The Huskies tied it early in the second, before Josh Bryant and Jared Karst staked the Senior Rebels to a 4-2 advantage heading into the third. Kyle Hall scored in the first minute, but Hodgeville answered back with two quick ones. The boys were able to maintain the one goal advantage and Kevin Powell hit the empty net to give the hometown squad a hard fought 6-4 victory.

article continues below

In the Saturday tilt on March 7, the Huskies scored first, but the Senior Rebels came roaring back on a pair from Braydon Delorme and a single from Carson Cayer to take a 3-1 period lead. Jacob Eger and Zach Evans added two more in the second on tallies, stretching it to 5-1. Hodgeville managed a goal, but then Delorme added his hattrick marker into an empty net, ending the game at 6-2 and giving the Rebels a 3-0 series advantage as they headed back into Hodgeville for game four.

The Rebels were not to be denied, as Bryce Hall and Zach Evans scored first period markers on Sunday, March 8. Delorme and Bryce Hall added two more goals to stake a 4-0 lead with 20 minutes to go to claim the title. Kyle Hall scored a shorthanded beauty before Bryce Hall notched his hattrick then Delorme added another to make it 7-1. The Huskies managed to score three late ones to make the final 7-4. Thus, the Senior Rebels swept the final 4-0 and were able claim the Notekeu League’s trophy.

Kyle Hall was selected as Playoff MVP, leading the Rebels in scoring and fine defensive play. But it was a super team effort and the Rebels had simply outplayed the talented Husky squad.

Thus, this year's Notekeu League title for 2019-2020 is now in the books. The Rebel are looking forward to another great year in 2020-21.